What’s Evil And What’s Good

It barely has been understood
that each of us hold inside
what’s evil and what’s good
it’s left to us to decide

After which we will follow
as the other we forsake
 and the reward may be hollow
based on the choice we make

There are angels assigned to guard
and protect us along the way
but our life will be hard
if with the demons we play

As Dr. Jekyll can only wait
for the coming of Mr. Hyde
I think that he must contemplate
how to retain his better side

When there’s evil and there’s good
that walks around us everywhere
to make the choices we should
will leave no time to spare

I pray that you will choose
the offer that God has made
for with Jesus you can’t lose
when the price He’s already paid!

 Teresa Marie  6/30/11

 

I want to thank  thepoetrypalace.com for the Perfect Poet Award from Week 50

I would like to nominate Kay Salady for the next award

About terri0729

I am very happily married, a mother of 2 girls and 1 boy, a grandmother of 2 boys and 1 girl; I hand design beaded jewerly and write Christian poetry and commentary. I am disabled (I have MS) and have plenty of time to indulge my interests.

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. It barely has been understood
    that each of us hold inside
    what’s evil and what’s good
    it’s left to us to decide

    true, well put.
    Happy Rally. :)

  2. reflections of complex world, well put.
    :)

  3. Very well-differentiated and the way you tell to go on and make the right choice is the very beauty of this poem.Nice write!

    Alcina

  4. Another really good poem about God, Terri. I love it! And, it is all about choices!

    My poem this week: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/she-sat-alone-2/

    • Thanks you Charles! Isn’t that what life is about, choice? We make them every day, many times thoughtlessly of their consequences. I like to give food for thought whenever I can :) I’ll check out your poem next. Peace

  5. If we seek him before our hearts, we will definitely find him..I have enjoyed reading your poem..

  6. I like this.
    I think everyone is capable of doing anything, good or bad. But it is up to the individual to choose their path and not stray from it.

  7. hey you did well on this one terri- i like i! glad to be of acquaintance again through thursday poets- my posting this week~ http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/strength-of-faith/

  8. Praises to the King. Beautiful poem, this line stood out strong to me, “to make the choices we should
    will leave no time to spare”
    God Bless

  9. Well put… “Jesus is Lord”
    Your poetry is a fine write also. :)
    Genebrother

  10. I like the reference to Jekyll and Hyde.
    Nice written! =)

  11. Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !!
    You’ve proved the Real Ying-Tang World.

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …

    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections

    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well

    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  12. Truer facts can’t be spoken being contrast btwn good and evil. Great poem

  13. Advice for all…what an inspiring message!

  14. Your poem about free will says it all. Praise God that when he looks at us he see our Lord Jesus who gave himself for us. Beautiful.

    Melanie

  15. We certainly see the words of your poem in the lives of the heroes of Scripture, do we not? There is a Jekyll and Hyde in the best of us and only with the Lord’s help can we save the one from the other. Nice poem.

  16. A great poem – very well written ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 805 other followers

