As My Ship Sailed Away, Again

(Image Source: my.opera.com)

I ran to the shore
as quickly as I could

Praying it would be there
and yet it did no good

For I saw my ship
was sailing away from me

I sat down and cried
over how it should be

Even though the fault was
none but my very own

I couldn’t help thinking that
once again I’m here alone

While everybody out there is
living a life they’re enjoying

I sit at home tired
of with my food toying

Life has lost it’s luster
it doesn’t for me shine

But yet is it truly
the fault is only mine?

Still, even though I’d like,
there’s no use to pretend

The reality is that I
have control in the end

For it is your attitude
that does your character define

And I really need to make
a big adjustment to mine!

Teresa Marie  12/10/11

About Teresa Brewer

I am very happily married, a mother of 2 girls and 1 boy, a grandmother of 2 boys and 1 girl; I hand design beaded jewerly and write Christian poetry and commentary. I am disabled (I have MS) and have plenty of time to indulge my interests.

Posted on December 10, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 805 other followers

