This Week’s Picture It & Write; I’ll Never Forget

Where would the wind blow me to next? I had visisted countries from all over the world. Just when my crew would grow anxious after months at sea, we were granted with our destination. I loved experiencing the exotic incense, strange cuisine, mysterious languages, fantastical tales of another culture. The life of a traveler, a pirate, was one of riches and pleasure. My crew adored me. People embraced me with open arms, the merchants and the whores.

I stabbed the worn map with my dirty dagger. How much wealth could be drained from this petty harbour village? How many slaves could we chain on board? How many would beg for their lives this time?

– Ermisenda Alvarez

I will never forget
when the raiders came

How I hid myself
crying in my shame

As I tried to peek
just a minute to see

If I could maybe spot 
those in my family 

I heard the people running
all throughout the field

Screaming out in their pain
of whips the slavers wield

As they chased after them
I saw none get away

It was in all mylife

the most horrid of any day

 

I followed in the shadows
down to the sea shore

Where they were loaded up
under the ships floor

When down they had gone
and no more left to see

I ran fast as I could
looking for others than me

But the village was empty
and I was all alone

So I ran to the ship
to let myself be shown

I didn’t want to live there
without all my family

But I died on that ship
that was the end of me.

Teresa Marie  3/31/12 © 


__picture it & write

by Ermilia

7 thoughts on “This Week’s Picture It & Write; I’ll Never Forget

  1. Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write!

    ‘I followed in the shadows
    down to the sea shore

    Where they were loaded up
    under the ships floor’

    How horrific. The idea of being captured and put beneath the ships floor. Lovely work!

    – Ermisenda

  2. Misdeeds Remembered

    Upon the
    ocean blue they loved
    to sail
    total freedom was what
    they sought

    Yet ignored
    the salient fact that the
    liberty they
    enjoyed – demanded for
    themselves

    Twas paid
    in full by the blood of innocents
    their hands
    were all to eager to shed in their
    lofty quest

    Their deeds
    recorded by the Angels sent from
    heaven above one
    day they’ll face before the throne
    of their Creator

    Who will
    demand payment in full within
    the depths
    of the lake of fire for the tears
    they ignored

    The riches
    gained by deeds so inhuman
    will then
    be seen as won at the cost of
    their souls

    Copyright David M. Green April 1, 2012

    1. I loved this, David!! I just had seen it on my list of e-mails from blogs I follow but you left it for me as well. Thank you for sharing this with me and my followers. love and hugs, Terri

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

