Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario – Dear God, What Now? – Part 1

Time & Place Scenario

You have been travelling by train in Europe. You wake to find that you’ve missed your stop and you are the last one aboard. You reach for your luggage in the hold above and as you pull it down a wallet (not belonging to you) falls out. You open it to find a large amount of cash…Tell me a story!

When Regina woke up from a deep sleep, she was disoriented.  The traveling had caught up to her.  Trying to get her bearings, she glanced out the window to see if she recognized where she was.

Just then the train passed a sign that said “Switzerland”!  Oh my God, Reggie thought to herself, I missed my stop hours ago.  What am I going to do now?

She quickly reached up to the baggage hold to locate her cell phone when a wallet dropped out.  “What in the world?” she said out loud.  Looking down at it she was almost afraid to pick it up, almost like it was a hot coal or something.  As she opened it up, Reggie saw that it was full of $100 bills and began counting them, 10 – 20 – 30 – 40 – 50 in all!  Not knowing what to think of the wallet with $5,000 in it, she shoved it down into her purse and started a conversation with God.

“Dear God, what now?  What am I supposed to do with this wallet and money?  There’s no ID in it for me to return it to the person, is this a sign?  You told me to take this trip in the first place.  I didn’t know why or what I was supposed to do but I followed Your lead!  Now what does this mean?!  I’m so confused.  And why did You let me get all the way to Switzerland?  Is this where I’m supposed to get off?”

Reggie’s stomach was growling something fierce and she decided to go to the dining car to eat and have a think about her situation.

As she walked through the cars, she noticed that there were no other passengers on board the train but her!  This was extremely disturbing to Reggie considering the train had been practically full when she left the station in Italy.  Her stomach was rolling now, and not just from the hunger either.  Now there was fear on top of that!

She sat down at a table and picked up the menu that was laying on it.  Within a few seconds, a waiter appeared with a glass of water.  “Do you speak English?” Reggie asked.

“Yes, I do quite fluently madam.  How can help you?” came his reply.

“I’d like to have a roast beef sandwich, french fries and a bottle of lager please.”

“Very good!”

Reggie’s hands were trembling as she pulled the wallet from her purse and looked inside it once again.  Confusion, fear, elation and apprehension all seemed to wash over her at the same time.

Just as the waiter was setting her lager on the table, her cell phone began to ring.  Reggie thanked him and dug out the phone.  “Unknown Number” it read.  Upon answering, she got the shock of her life!  A voice said, “Wonder what you’re supposed to do with that money, huh?”

To be continued…

Teresa Marie 5/13/12 ©

#FWF Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario

by kellieelmore

13 thoughts on “Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario – Dear God, What Now? – Part 1

    1. Thanks Becca! I will write more tomorrow as long as I feel up to it. I am under the weather again 😦 But I can’t wait to get the next part down in writing instead of just in my head, lol! stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

