Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario – Dear God, What Now? – Part 3

“I don’t know any of that, I’m just telling you my part of this and that’s all I know!  I was told to go home and continue praying for the next step of my faith journey.” the voice was gentler now.  ”Good luck and God bless you!” and with that the line was dead.

Reggie was visibly shaking now.  The waiter returned to the table and asked if she was cold and would like something to put around her shoulders.  She graciously declined and began to nibble at her food, but her appetite had diminished considerably since the phone call.  Then she called to the waiter and asked, “When is the next train station?”

“You have almost 30 minutes before we arrive at our next stop, madam.” was his reply as he turned to walk away once more.

Reggie wanted time to pray about these latest developments, so she hurried back to her seat and began to do just that.  “Father, I’m so confused and don’t know what it is that you want from me.  I’m doing my best to go on blind faith and trust here but this isn’t easy for me and You know it!”

Deep in thought and prayer, she almost missed her stop again.  After disembarking the train, Reggie went to the ticket counter to inquire about a room to stay in.

“You are in luck,” the gentleman replied to her query, “there’s one across the street that is owned by my brother-in-law!!  It is affordable and very well-kept.”

“Thank you so much!” she said and with that picked up her luggage and exited the station.   Upon entering the hostel, Reggie saw that it was indeed a very nice and tidy establishment.  “So far so good!” she said to herself.

As she approached the check in counter, an unkept woman with three children walked up to her.  Reggie smiled at her and said “Hello.”

The woman immediately burst into tears.  Reggie was taken back for a moment.  “Can I do something to help you?” she asked her.

“Please, ma’am, could you spare some change so that I could get a room and something to eat for my children?  My husband brought us to this town and then disappeared and we are so very hungry.  He left us with no money at all!” the woman replied with a wail.

“Sure,” she said and with that pulled the wallet out of her purse and handed her $300.

The woman’s eyes were bigger than silver dollars at the sight of the money.  “May God richly bless you for this!!!”…   to be continued.

Teresa Marie 5/15/12 ©


#FWF Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario

by kellieelmore

2 thoughts on “Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario – Dear God, What Now? – Part 3

Leave a Reply

