Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario – Dear God, What Now? – Part 7

“Perfect,” Monique said as Reggie handed her the address, “I will pick you up there  shortly and we will have a marvelous conversation!!  I promise it won’t be boring.”  After which she flashed her the most brilliant and kind smile that Regina had ever seen.  At that moment she felt a surge of great love for this woman, Miss Monique D’bua.

With that being said, they parted company.  When she had returned to the hostel, she left a wake-up for two hours later.  That would give her plenty of time to take a quick shower and re-apply her make-up before Monique arrived.

Reggie fell right to sleep as soon as her head hit the pillow and awoke refreshed.  She was looking forward to dinner, not only because she was famished, but she truly enjoyed Monique’s company as well.

Just as she expected, Monique arrived promptly 3 hours later, at 5:30.  She said she  had a special restaurant that she wanted to take Regina to eat at, her treat!  As they exited the hostel, Reggie saw a stretch Limo was sitting there.  “Is that our ride?”

Monique giggled a little bit and nodded, “Yes, it is!  Do you like it?”

“Oh yes, very much so!”

“Well, it’s my husband’s money, you see, but he allows me to freely spend it!  He inherited a fortune from his parents when they passed on and then increased by at least 10 times after that.  It’s what you Americans call ‘ old family money’ that gave him his start.”

On the ride, they chatted about generalities; her trip, the people she had met, etc.  Reggie was quite comfortable talking to Monique by the time they were seated for dinner in their private dining room.  

Monique flashed that brilliant smile at her again while saying, “I thought this would give us some privacy to discuss the coming events.  Besides, I just plain don’t feel like being stared at while we talk.”

“Okay,” Reggie replied, “since you brought it up, why don’t we get started  now?!  The suspense is killing me.”

“Alright then.  I prayed over it again while I was shopping to be sure that I got everything right and I was assured that I did.  First, I’m so happy to be a part of your journey because I have, first of all, made a new friend that I like very much and, second, because I have been praying for God to give me something to do with all these resources that I have at my disposal.”

Reggie was so excited that she was gushing, “You mean you are coming with me?!”

“Yes, I am for now anyway!” Monique couldn’t keep the elation from bubbling up any longer and began laughing uncontrollably when Reggie jumped up and started dancing around their private room.  Monique’s laugh was so sweet, it sounded like an angel, and very contagious.  Reggie decided she better sit down before she ended up rolling on the floor.

“Oh, Monique, I am so grateful to both God and you for this!  I hate traveling alone as it is but to a whole other unfamiliar continent was very intimidating, not to mention the language barrier.  Besides all that, I wanted to have more time to spend with you too!  I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship!!” …  to be continued

Teresa Marie 5/20/12 ©


#FWF Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario

by kellieelmore

3 thoughts on “Free Write Friday; Time & Place Scenario – Dear God, What Now? – Part 7

  1. May I impose on our friendship to please have the rest of this story…the suspense is driving me bonkers!

    1. ROTFL!!!! I’m trying to keep them in short posts to make them easier to read but I promise to make them longer so that you won’t die before I get finished! lol. Thanks Len for the chuckle too!!

Leave a Reply

