picture it & write-Prompt #27; Why Should I?

I viciously threw the measuring tape to the ground. The black and white markings glared at me from down below. It felt good to throw it away. Why did I torture myself over a few kilograms or an inch? I didn’t measure my relationships with my friends, my emotional state, or the breadth of my smile with a tape. So, why did I measure my self-image with one? The tape appeared to writhe on the floor, wanting to latch onto my thighs, hips, and waist to critisice and ridicule me. I had come to realise that a healthy body cannot be determined by a black and white number. I ripped the tape in two. There were so many beautiful shades of grey and I was happy with mine.

 Ermisenda Alvarez


__picture it & write

by Ermilia

11 thoughts on “picture it & write-Prompt #27; Why Should I?

  1. When others claim that I don’t measure up as a man because I refuse to cater to the women in my life – I just keep on walking with my head held up high while ignoring the fools.

    1. Even though I am a woman and could take offense to that, David, I don’t because I know exactly what you are talking about and I say, “walk on, my son, walk on!” hugs and love, Terri

      ________________________________

  2. A tape measure should never dictate someone’s self love or hate. Great work, powerful stuff, Terri. 🙂 Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write.

    1. LOL! I know what you mean!!!! But, when I step on the scales for the tenth time in a week, I keep telling myself that my husband says I’m beautiful just the way I am and why can’t I just accept that? He’s the one whose opinion that truly matters anyway, isn’t he!? thanks for the comment! hugs…

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

