picture it & write; Decisions


Which one should I choose? A couple dozen keys were littered out in front of me. The elderly woman with gnarled hands and a crooked nose spread them out. This couldn’t be real. Surely it was just hocus pocus. But, what if it wasn’t? The woman stared at me intently, waiting for my choice. “All I want is a new start,” I sighed. These keys wouldn’t help that journey. The woman responded in a hoarse voice, “What do you value most, young man?” Dreams, love, heart, memory, life, wealth, health… and countless more keys glistened. I wanted to grab them all. Which one should I choose?

 Ermisenda Alvarez

http://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/2952/

8 thoughts on “picture it & write; Decisions

  1. Terri I just cannot stand anymore today I tell you it has been a spirit filled day and then I come home and my grandson and I started talking about how his Mother would have liked Pastors preaching today which led to other items one of which was paths he has taken and shouldn’t have and those that were correct. Now here is this beautiful poem that I am going to send to his page and print it off for he and his brother. Thank you so much for this beautiful inspiring message!

    1. Thanks Len for the kind words and please be my guest to share this with whomever you want!! I’m so happy that you liked it enough to want to do that!! love and hugs, Terri

  2. Fantastic. I love the journey in your poetry, a story within a poem. A powerful finale. Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & Write, Terri. 🙂

    – Ermisenda

    1. Thanks Ermi!! This one took me a bit longer than usual to get it right the way I wanted it but I think it turned out to be well worth the effort! I’m so glad that you enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

