“Heaven is For Real” the Movie

11179620_800

I wrote a whole post about this movie after Mark and I watched it about a month ago but did it on my new tablet and promptly lost everything.  So I’m going to do it again from the desktop.

Have you seen this movie?  If you haven’t, I strongly suggest that you do.  It is fabulous and deeply moving in every way.

Here is the official plot summary:

  • Based on the #1 New York Times best-selling book of the same name, HEAVEN IS FOR REAL brings to the screen the true story of a small-town father who must find the courage and conviction to share his son’s extraordinary, life-changing experience with the world. The film stars Academy Award® nominee and Emmy® award winning actor Greg Kinnear as Todd Burpo and co-stars Kelly Reilly as Sonja Burpo, the real-life couple whose son Colton (newcomer Connor Corum) claims to have visited Heaven during a near death experience. Colton recounts the details of his amazing journey with childlike innocence and speaks matter-of-factly about things that happened before his birth … things he couldn’t possibly know. Todd and his family are then challenged to examine the meaning from this remarkable event.

    Written by Sony Pictures Publicity

The little boy they cast to play the part of Colton was superb, along with the rest of the cast.

I has watched it once before Mark and I watched it together and it got me thinking about my own experience.  It saddened me greatly to realize how far away from my connection to God that I have allowed the world and the enemy to take me.  Just a short time ago, no more than 3 or 4 years, I would have told you it was impossible but here I am.  I don’t pray for the first hour of each day, or read daily in the Bible, or walk around the house praying in tongues.  The only time it seems that I do pray these days is when requested to or someone I know is in need.  I have determined to strive hard this year to correct that situation.  After that, I also realized how much Mark has changed over the last few years as well.

We’ve both been through a lot and, in reality, it’s not surprising to find some bitterness has set into both of us.  Just seeing it in writing really pounds the point home.

Anyway, when we were watching this movie I kept glancing over at Mark through my tears and wondered if it was affecting him as much as it had me.  I was pretty sure it was.  Afterwards I asked if it made him remember more clearly his experience.

He said that whomever did the cinematography for the scene where Colton tells his dad about entering their church and seeing the angels in Heaven did a spot on job.

heavenisforreal-01

I asked what he meant ’cause I thought he didn’t see any angels.  Mark said that he didn’t see the actual angels forms but he saw the lights just exactly as they had depicted them.  I found that not only awesome but also reassuring ’cause I only saw the light as well.

So take it from two “near-deather’s” this is the inspirational movie of the decade to see.

I’m sure I had more to say about it in the first post I did right after viewing it but I don’t remember 😦

Love and blessings to you all, my friends,
Terri

P.S.  Check out also Akiane Kramarik’s (another near-deather mentioned in the movie) painting of Jesus.  To see more on her Pinterest page click on the link:

Prince-of-Peace-Painting

12 thoughts on ““Heaven is For Real” the Movie

    1. IS THERE NO GOD?-BY STEVE FINNELL

      Atheists claim there is no God, but do they believe it? Is it possible that atheists simply deny that there is a God? Is it plausible that atheists know there is a God, but because of pride, choose not to acknowledge the existence of God?

      James 2:19 You believe that God is one. You do well; that demons also believe, and shudder.

      Strange that demons believe in God, but atheists claim they do not believe there is a God.

      Mark 1:23-24 Just then there was a man in their synagogue with an unclean spirit; and he cried out, 24 saying, “What business do we have with each other Jesus of Nazareth? Have You come to destroy us? I know who You are—The Holy One of God!”

      Atheists proclaim they do know or believe that there is a God. Unclean spirits not only believe that Jesus is The Holy One of God, but that he has the power to destroy them.

      Psalm 14:1 The fool has said in his heart, “There is no God.” They are corrupt, they have committed abominable deeds; There is no one who does good.

      Do some men deny there is a God as a self deception. If there is no God then there is no right from wrong, no good and evil. If there is no God then men can create a moral code that comports with their lifestyle.

      Romans 1:19-20 because that which is know about God is evident within them; for God made it evident to them. 20 For since the creation of the world His attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse,

      God has made it evident in every man that He exists. Denying God does not change the fact of the existence of God.

      Psalms 19:1 The heavens are telling of the glory of God; And their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.

      All you have to do to believe there is God, is look up!

      1 Corinthians 20-21 Where is the wise man? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21 For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not come to know God, God was well-pleased through the foolishness of the message preached to save those who believe.

      The foolish wisdom of the world cannot prove that there is no God.

      Through the preaching of the gospel men can believe in God and that Jesus is the Son of God!

      ATHEISTS DENY THAT GOD EXISTS, BUT DO THEY REALLY BELIEVE IT?

      YOU ARE INVITED TO FOLLOW MY BLOG. http://steve-finnell.blogspot.com

      1. Amen Steve! I’ve always saod just that. My abuser said there was no God and I thought “you just say that now ’cause you know that you’re going to hell for all the bad you’ve done in your life.”
        Thanks for sharing and God bless!

    1. Thanks Emily! I loved supporting the rally but my brain is so scattered these days that I didn’t think it would be fair to the others when I was always forgetting to do the required visits and comments. Blessings, Terri

Leave a Reply

