What’s To Be Thankful For?

What’s to be thankful for you ask?
To make a list is quite a task:

I’m thankful for my life
to be my lover’s wife

I’m thankful for my husband
who is my best friend

I’m thankful for the children
God blessed me with back when

I’m thankful for my great joys
my grandchildren, the girl and boys

I’m thankful for my father and mother
for my sister and for each brother

I’m thankful for my adopted ones
all the daughters and the sons

I’m thankful for every friend
into my life God did send

I’m thankful for legs to walk
and a mouth with which to talk

I’m thankful for ears to hear
and heart that holds no fear

I’m thankful for eyes to see
all the blessings God’s given me

And this list could go on
unto the stars and beyond

But let it suffice to say
I thank God for every day!

Teresa Marie   11/12/11

This week’s submission for:

 http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/free-write-friday-what-are-you-thankful-for/

 

http://gooseberrygoespoetic.blogspot.com/2011/11/poetry-picnic-week-14-what-im-thankful.html


 

 

22 thoughts on “What’s To Be Thankful For?

  1. reading the line about thankfulness for hearing…. wow that just got to me. sometimes we forget to be grateful for those things we take for granted such as hearing and sight. thank you for reminding me, terri. and thanks for this sweet contribution to FWF! big hugs!

    kellie

    1. LOL! I had to go to the poem and see what image I used ’cause I couldn’t remember. It is amazing, isn’t it! I was going to use it for something else but when I was prompted to write something about what I was thankful for, this image fit perfectly. So glad that you liked it!! 🙂 blessings…

Leave a comment